#MorningMusings // The Office

IMG_0089

I woke with the familiar feeling that today there was nothing for me to get done. There is no rush or hurry to sprint through a checklist of daily chores and errands. Not today. Nothing but me, this car, and the wind outside. It is unusually windy today. Without even stepping outside I know this because I can hear it. A faint and inconsistent whistle from the door seal from my drivers side window that I’ve been meaning to fix but haven’t. The car is shaking a bit too. I drift off to sleep again until my body refuses to let me keep sleeping and wasting this beautiful day.  Routinely I use my foot to kick open the back hatch and crawl out, this time not hitting my head on the dowel rod that is my closet rack, as I have done so many mornings before. Mugishly, I slip on my sandals and fold my bedding along with my homemade curtains and set them in their designated place behind my seat. I make my way to the driver’s seat where I sit, reach for my toiletry bag from the passenger side floor board and unroll it. Using the built in hook to hang it from my rearview mirror, I unzipped the pocket with my toothbrush and toothpaste and apply a thin layer of toothpaste. I close my eyes and lean my head back against the headrest as I brush. I step out of the car again and tuck myself behind a tree. My morning pee. With nowhere to be or with nothing to accomplish before my shift at 3pm I roll down my windows, move around to the back of my car, brew some coffee, climb into my office, pull out my laptop, and write. It’s going to be a great day.

Leave a Reply

